Printer-friendly version

What are the national core arts standards?

A process that guides educators in providing a unified quality arts education for students in Pre-K through high school.

Status of the Arts Standards Revision in the US Since 2014

What is the status of arts standards in 2018?

Since the June 2014 release of the National Core Arts Standards, twenty-seven states and the Department of Defense have adopted revised arts standards in one or more arts disciplines. An additional state, New Hampshire, has updated Arts Competencies for its schools. Currently, ten states are in the process of revising their state arts standards. Some states have adopted the voluntary national standards as their own, other states reviewed or made changes to their standards employing the National Core Arts Standards as one of their revision sources. Many states have acknowledged the emerging art form of media arts by adopting standards for education in the media arts as a part of their revision processes. As of January 31, 2018, of the states that have revised their standards or competencies, twenty-two have added standards for media arts education and an additional three states that are in the process of revising will be including media arts standards.

In many ways, the standards revision process can serve as an intersecting point of dialogue and communication as communities reflect on what it means to have access to a high quality education in the arts and why it is important. The creation of the National Core Arts Standards themselves prompted deep and meaningful conversations among the member organizations that created them and the more than 130 arts educators and 6,000 reviewers who participated in their creation. In turn, the publication of these voluntary National Core Arts Standards can prompt a rich dialogue between students, educators, administrators, policy makers, parents and community members about access and advocacy for the arts to ensure artistic literacy for all.

View the complete report here:


Artistic Processes are the cognitive and physical actions by which arts learning and making are realized. National Core Arts Standards are based on the artistic processes of Creating; Performing/ Producing/Presenting; Responding; and Connecting.